Busting myths about aging

Busting myths about aging.

Those over eighty-five are one of the fastest growing demographics but are often hampered by unfair stereotypes about their abilities and role in society. ‘This is particularly acute among older woman,’ said retired psychologist Mark Biggs.

‘To help bust the myth about aging, I’ve written the “Max and Olivia”, action and adventure book series. The stories celebrate older people.’

‘Perhaps I was a little cavalier when choosing a grumpy old man, eighty-seve-year-old Max and his renegade wife Olivia, as the main characters, yet they provided an inspiring platform through which to challenge the accepted chronicle of aging.’

There are six books in the Max and Olivia series:

  1. Operation Underpants
  2. Claudia,
  3. Operation OBE (over bloody eighty),
  4. St Mary’s Dating Agency
  5. Operation Origami – The Ire of Claudia,
  6. Operation Snowflake.

Set against a backdrop of current geopolitical happenings of the world today, in their eighties, Max and Olivia return to the world of espionage.

Each book in the Max and Olivia series is a little different. Most, but not all, use a measured does of humour to broach topical subjects, or to lighten what otherwise would be dark scenes. The result is a satisfying and rewarding read.

The age of the main characters, lend the books to an older audience, however, Max and Olivia are ably assisted by, Claudia and a host of other people who give the stories a much wider appeal.

With the exception of Operation Underpants (which ends in a cliff hanger), each book has a complete ending and can be read as a standalone story. Nevertheless, if you intend reading the series, it is best to read them in sequence. There is an overarching background storyline running through all the books.

In a world where much of what we read is the same, the Max and Olivia series is refreshingly unique, and just a little quirky.

Growing old is peculiar to the individual